In September 2018, California voters approved Proposition 1, which mandated that all children up to 12 years old in the State of California be covered by a carseat stroller.
The law created a “Car Seat Registration Program” in the State of California that required that all car seats that were less than 3 months old (inclusive of any children’s car seats) and that had a minimum height of less than 30 inches must be registered with the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
In order to qualify for registration, a child must be at least 6 months old, have a minimum weight of at least 100 pounds, and have a current driver license.
However, because the California Vehicle Code does not define a car child as a child less than 6 months, the State has been able to apply for registration of up to five car seats with a minimum of six months age.
Since the beginning of the program, only California car seats have been eligible for registration.
According to the California DMV, up to 1,200 car seats registered for sale in 2018 are eligible for this program, with approximately 2,500 cars currently in the program.
California car seat registries are used by car owners to make sure their car seats meet state standards.
In addition, the registries allow registered car owners the ability to request a car safety seat that meets their specific needs.
If your child is older than 12 years and has a car accident, your state may also require you to register the car seat.
If your car insurance policy covers your carseat, it will also require a registration.
To register your child’s car seat, visit your local DMV office and follow the steps outlined in the registration form.
The registration fee is $25, and it can be done online, by mail, or by phone.